Enneagram – What is it, definition and concept

The enneagram is a tool that enhances self-knowledge. In it, a classification of the personality is carried out, which allows to go deeper into knowing the behavior of a person. It is a technique that is used in fields such as psychology and coaching.

The Enneagram of Personality shows a classification of nine types of behavior. In this way, the individual can identify with one of them and assess her behavior in relation to it.

It is interesting to use this type of tools, since they allow us to assess the patterns that one possesses and be aware of the way of behaving. Thus, unwanted behaviors can be prevented.

What are the characteristics of the enneagram?

It is composed of the following nine enneatypes:

  • Enneatype 1, the reformer: They are individuals whose goal is to seek perfection. They focus on dividing right from wrong, moral from immoral, and often feel superior to others. It motivates them to be above the rest of the people.
  • Enneatype 2, the proud: His goal is to seduce others to know that others need him. They give nothing without getting something. In its most balanced aspect, they can become altruistic.
  • Enneatype 3, the vain: Focused on appearances and image. They love being liked by other people.
  • Enneatype 4, the sensitive: They are aware of what they lack, of what they have. In extreme situations, envy moves them when it comes to acting. When they are in a balanced way, they can be very creative and even empathic.
  • Enneatype 5, the observer: They are usually very observant individuals and not very participative. Their character is rather antisocial, it is not often to see them participate in meetings or events. When they are in a certain balance they tend to be generous.
  • Enneatype 6, the loyal one: They often feel trapped by fear. They have catastrophic thoughts and have many imaginary conflicts with themselves and with those around them. If they are in a balanced moment, they tend to be people who help others, they can even become brave in certain circumstances.
  • Enneatype 7, the enthusiast: They do not like to live in the present, they live in the future, with daydreams, they are not satisfied with what they have and they look around to get what they want.
  • Enneatype 8, the challenger: They tend to impose their own law, they do not feel empathy for anything or anyone. Their lack of self-criticism gives them away. If they are in a stable moment, they can be protectors and leaders.
  • Enneatype 9, the peacemaker: They avoid all possible conflicts and have difficulty connecting with what they really need. In moments of total balance, they can become excellent mediators and very calm people.
See also  Cardano (ADA) - What it is, definition and concept

enneagram example

Thanks to this classification, different personalities that meet certain traits within the exposed categories of the enneatypes can be intuited. For example, enneatype number 1 could be in line with Lisa Simpson, the protagonist of this famous series who always seeks perfection in everything she does.

Although some consider the enneagram a useful tool, others point out that it does not have real scientific evidence and blame the fact that it is related to magical thinking. For example, it is something that Dr. Jerome Lube points out when talking about this concept.

Leave a Comment